Answer to travel photo #5

The photo was taken on the lovely island of Torcello which is in the lagoon north of Venice. Once heavily populated, it now has very few inhabitants. It does have an interesting history The forgotten Venice   and the  ancient Cathedral of Torcello among its attractions.

The photo shows the containers that are used twice a year to provide the soft shelled delicacy know as moeche. These containers, known as vieri, used to be made of wicker. Now they consist of wooden planks, spaced so the water can circulate to keep the little crabs alive when the containers are lowered into the  shallow waters of the lagoon. 

I have eaten them once. Then I found out how they are prepared, and never had them again. Poor moeche

 

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “Answer to travel photo #5

  1. and here is the list I mentioned I had for you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I should have carried on guessing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How wonderful to have been able to taste moeche! You always seem to be at the right place at the right time!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ….and a wonderful church. This Island looked like deserted .

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Traditional fishing .
    We went to an almost deserted Island in the Laguna ; we saw a restaurant and a la.
    Love ❤
    Michel

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for this. I was turned off veal on honeymoon in 1963. The farmer we were staying with asked me to help him catch some stray bullocks and return them to a darkened shed. I did so, then asked him why they were kept in there.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh! So cool to find out the location AND what the wicker containers are used for. I wondered if it had something to do with “fishing” of some sort.
    I shall click on the link.
    (((HUGS))) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Caroline

    We follow the method of immersing them in beaten egg for a few hours, so they happily eat themselves to death before being cooked – a much nicer thought!
    Thanks for the photo – I’ve never seen these containers (also called ‘vivai’) myself, so it was just a guess. How interesting to learn from fellow readers that the bayous of Louisiana and Guyana look the same!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The first time I saw those containers was in a prowl on Giudecca. I had no idea what I was looking at.

      I have to say the moeche did taste good, although one had a less than soft shell, Caroline. I can’t remember where I ate them, it’s too long ago.

      I was also surprised at those other answers. I need to travel more, it seems.

      Hello to the bloke and the Mistress of the house. xxx

      Like

  9. Jane

    I love Torcello! Never knew about these crabs…..thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Now let's hear it from you, folks.