Dear Barb

Today, I bought the ingredients to practice making a healthy dish during your stay with me in Rome.

It is very simple, needing only spelt*, onion, pumpkin and stock. And, a few herbs. 

I hope you’ll like it, I licked my dish clean. But then, I was very hungry!

Have you ever seen such a brilliant orange pumpkin? I surely haven’t, back in Australia.

P1020160

  • To quote this site cereals  “Spelt is a variety of grain or cereal that is closely related to wheat. In fact, spelt likely developed from a hybridization of emmer wheat and wild goat-grass. It is closely related to normal “bread” wheat, but the popularity of bread wheat soon made spelt obsolete, which is why it is considered a “relic” crop“. It seems to be making a comeback in many parts of the world.

At the request of John, here is the recipe:

Spelt with pumpkin (Thanks to Francesca crudoecotto.blog)

300 gr of spelt

200 gr of pumpkin

1 shallot

1/2 teaspoon of dried sage

1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil

vegetable broth to taste

Salt to taste

In a saucepan boil the spelt in abundant salted water for about 30 minutes.

Peel the pumpkin and cut it into cubes.

Chop the shallot.

In a large pan heat the oil and add the shallot and the pumpkin.

Brown for 10 minutes, stirring with a wooden spoon.

Drain the spellt and add it to the pan.

Cook over a low heat for about 20 minutes adding the vegetable stock a little at a time.

Add sage, pepper and salt to taste.

Serve warm.

 

41 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

41 responses to “Dear Barb

  1. BarbB

    Quite often the simpler the ingredients, the more delicious the food. I’m looking forward to having another of your tasty dishes. Do you remember a delicious soup you made in Venice? See you in 24 days!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WHERES THE MEAT???

    I’ll give this a miss?

    The pumperkin that I buy here in NSW is usually of a good brilliant orange colour, trouble with you folks living south of the border can’t even grow a proper pumperkin proper 😛 .

    ( I always say pumperkin annoys the hell out of the War Office 😈 )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yum….Barb looks like she will be well fed. And so healthy too! That will offset all the delicious gelato in Rome. Very smart… 😉 xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks good. Just like a chocolate milkshake only crunchy. Whoops! That’s a throwback from watching my brother eat Coco Pops yesterday. I meant to say, just like a risotto, only not. Pity my hubbie’s been diagnosed coeliac. That sure is a good looking pumpkin.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Baked pumpkin is always tastier in a soup, spelt soep in Dutch, or suppe in German..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The recipe sounds hearty and delicious. I hope you enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sorry for the typing mistakes :::

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Butwhy do tyou writr dear Barb? I knew in the past a xangans cexesed since then celled Barb
    Love ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  9. tHIS LOOKS VERY EXCITING? yVONNE /

    Liked by 1 person

  10. PS I’ve never seen such brilliant pumpkin here in Canada.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Almost sounds like a barley soup or the wheat dish (without the pumpkin) that Ukrainians cook for Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Susie L

    That sounds delicious. I recently made a vegetable soup with farro, and it was a nice winter-time soup. The bright orange pumpkin flesh reminds me of the pumpkin sold at the Rialto market. Zucca Barucca they call it, also Chioggia di Marina. When roasted, it is so sweet and flavorful. The skin is a bright blue-green and very warty. I love just looking at it!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Jane

    It certainly is a beautiful shade of orange. I can’t stand pumpkin….but maybe the spelt combo would make it delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I once spent a happy hour around Bergerac trying to find spelt bread for my visiting sister. That was fun, since I knew neither what it was in English, nor the French word.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Sounds tasty! I’ll try that recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Yes Yvonne, in my Ballarat Brew shop we had quite a turnover of Spelt. And I don’t want to sound like my …………ian relative but I used to grow quite good pumpkins too. But what’s the recipe, please ?

    Liked by 1 person

  17. And to think – I only got an old stale jam sandwich…

    Liked by 1 person

Now let's hear it from you, folks.