The cloister, Madonna dell’Orto

You may recall this photo, taken outside the Madonna dell’Orto, in which my attempt to get a clear shot of the sculpture was stymied by the pesky tourist photo-bombers.

025

Well, I gave it another try, once the exhibition in the cloister of this church in Cannaregio had opened.

The exhibition is Chiamata e risposta (Call and response), and is well worth seeing.  It is open until 22 November.

This link will introduce you to the artist and her work:   call-and-response

First of all, you get a chance to see the rarely open cloister:

20150520_114921

It’s the first time I was able to see the campanile from this particular angle.

20150520_115148

And, I had never seen this well head before

20150520_114823

20150520_114843

Emily Young uses “rock from quarries near her studio in the Etruscan hills” to  produce her beautiful, powerful sculptures.

20150520_114752

20150520_114743

20150520_115301

20150520_115348

20150520_115102

20150520_115422

A fragment from the past leans casually against a wall.

20150520_115318

And, I did wonder who had done the taxidermy work on these two avians.

20150520_115406

20150520_115441

PS The pesky tourists enjoyed this exhibition, also.

14 Comments

Filed under Venice

14 responses to “The cloister, Madonna dell’Orto

  1. Caroline

    The Emily Young exhibition was open last summer too, although I don’t think the sculpture outside was there then. There are some lovely pieces, aren’t there? The stuffed birds seemed to be part of the exhibition in the summer of 2013, so maybe the family who own the cloister bought them.

    At the 2013 opening we met the contessa and she told us the story of how they came to own it: we can’t remember clearly but they were supposedly sold/given it by Napoleon, and then excommunicated for it! (I assume they’ve since been… re-communicated? 🙂 ) Those of us who hung about for long enough got invited inside the low building at the front of the cloister; I asked her what is used for normally & it’s just her children’s pied-a-terre for when they come to Venice!

    (Finally getting time to catch up on your last 2 months’ worth of blog entries! So sorry we didn’t see more of each other this year. When are you back? I am working part-time next year!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s good news about your working hours next year, Caroline. Mimi will be happy to have you around more. And, I’ll have a better chance to see more of you, also!

      I didn’t realise there was such an interesting story attached to the cloister.

      I’m busy with one of the pesky tourists who is up here doing maintenance work on his wife’s house, which is near where I live. They’ve got far too many windows, I can tell you that! But, some of them look very clean, and my arms are sore. 🙂

      Cheers to you, Phil and Mimi. ❤

      Like

  2. Those heads are amazing, thanks for showing us.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You rock Yvonne 😀 ❤

    Like

  4. Marvellous work. How amazing that that pesky woman was still there second time round 🙂

    Like

  5. Could I have the head with the swept back hair for my birthday please? Of course it is probably way too large for my current digs.

    Like

  6. I have wasted so much time waiting for people to move so I can get a clear shot!

    Liked by 1 person

Now it's your turn

