It’s beginning to …

Like many streets in Venice, Calle Larga XXII Marzo shows signs of the Christmas season, with festive lights brightening the atmosphere.

Calle Larga XXII Marzo is a lovely broad thoroughfare in the sestiere of San Marco. It is home to many top end boutiques, hotels and restaurants.

It was renamed in 1881 (from Calle San Moise, for the church which is at one end of the calle) after the expulsion of the Austrians on 22 March 1848. At that time, it was also widened by smashing down a few buildings that stood in the way.

I don’t know when Prada, Versace, Bulgari and their ilk arrived in this neighbourhood.

P1000943

P1000941

P1000940

24 Comments

Filed under Venice

24 responses to “It’s beginning to …

  1. Nice lights. I like the yellow coat, too! 🙂 Merry Christmas Yvonne! BTW what is downtown Dismal Swamp? Now I understand the sweaty in the next post. I thought, “I’m always sweaty, this should be good. I don’t know too many things good about being sweaty, so I’d better read this! 🙂 Then I couldn’t find any sweat! So Sweaty is where you are?????

    Like

  2. Beautiful Christmas lights.

    Like

  3. Andante

    When we were in Venice last week they’d started changing the windows to the special Christmas displays – I couldn’t resist taking a photo of a completely unwearable pair of dagger-heeled, diamante soled items that may vaguely come under the heading of footwear! Price tags to match! One night the streets were darkish – the next, lit up for Christmas. From something I heard there I think there’s been some issue over paying for the lighting this year. Even so, Venice is special.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Someone told me that the local shop owners are responsible for the street displays, and the electricity. I don’t know if that is true, or not.

      So, you didn’t buy the shoes, then? Pity.

      Like

      • Andante

        Oddly enough, no, the shoes may have lifted the heel above Aqua Alta, but the toes would have got all wet and cold – and I’d never have been able to walk to reach the nearest pair of wellies, in them.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. these are great photos of lights. They are so tricky to do! Great job

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cheryl was gaping at a beautiful gown in the Versace window. She was surrounded by ladies of all ages and nationalities. They were all looking from the gown to each other, nodding and making appreciative noises.

    Like

  6. Well, I’m not so old but I clearly remeber in tne Calle Larga a travel agency, a farmacia, a bakery and a bookshop. I think the big change started around 1990, more or less…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The lady in yellow coat and matching shoes looks very Versace to me.

    Like

  8. Are you back in Venice Yvonne ? ❤

    Like

Now it's your turn

