Villa Hériot, Giudecca

And so, the City Council of Venice has put up another property  for sale to the highest bidder. Will it become yet another 7 star hotel? (Thank you, Winckelmann, for your article on this.)

This time, it’s not a centuries old palazzo, or an island in one of the lagoons, but rather the Villa Hériot on the southern side of the Giudecca.  Even the most devoted Venetophile may not have heard of this  villa.

It was built in the 1920s, for rich Frenchmen Zacharie Olympe Hériot and Cyprienne Dubernet. When these two gentlemen had died, the heirs sold the villa to the city of Venice, with the proviso that the building would be used as a school. Currently, you will find here the headquarters of the International University of Art, an institution of the highest level for the restoration of works of art, and also a kindergarten within an annex on the grounds.

It’s a lovely building, you can get to it by following Calle Michelangelo from near the Zitelle vaporetto stop. I went a couple of times, to see photographic exhibitions that had been advertised, and I’m glad I did.

Well, let’s see how this latest plan to get some money into the Commune budget will play out.

Here are a few photos to show you what a little gem this villa is.

P1050221

P1050222

P1050223

P1050226

P1050232

P1050235

P1050244

35 Comments

Filed under Venice

35 responses to “Villa Hériot, Giudecca

  1. Count me in for the commune and no cooking. What a beautiful place to enjoy art! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim

    We may have passed it on the way to the boat last year but I don’t recognize it. It is a pretty property, your first picture didn’t do it justice. 🙂
    ..

    Like

  3. A bloggers’ commune is just what I’ve been waiting for! What beautiful architecture. Buildings like this have a story all their own.

    Like

  4. Yes – I agree with Andrew! I’m sure we could make it doable.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Enjoyed your photos.

    Like

  6. What a pretty building Yvonne. I read your comment to Andrew. Affordable housing sound like a splendid idea but I suppose it is the same everywhere in that it doesn’t make the most money. I do think the realtors could use your photos in their brochure. Lovely.

    Like

  7. Liz

    I have really enjoyed browsing the photos. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on Tiffani Leon's site "In Search of Lost …" and commented:
    как же я мечтаю посетить Италию… в четвёртый раз! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Perhaps we should have a whip round and buy it as a bloggers and photographers commune. It looks brilliant.

    Liked by 2 people

    • If you work out the legalities and details, Andrew, I’m in. (As though you have nothing else going on in your life!)

      It really is another hidden treasure in Venice.

      Like

  10. It is a grand looking building, does the original condition still apply?
    It would be a shame if it became a hotel but at least it would be cared for I suppose?

    Like

    • It’s a beautiful building. Winckelmann didn’t say anything about the original conditions, but if the Commune is planning to sell it, they must have found a loophole, or the proviso no longer holds, or ….

      The building and grounds are well kept, I don’t know where the money comes from, for that.

      They’ve had so many hotels fail; Venice doesn’t really need any more, they need affordable housing for their population.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. It’s not snowing on my screen….although there is still snow on my lawn (way too cold for it to melt). Maybe they only add snow for you or did you turn it off before I checked? I also checked my own blog and there is no snow there.

    Like

  12. It’s lovely. Let’s buy it and keep the school.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Why do we have to sell of the jewels to keep the greedy happy? Venice, Australia – it doesn’t matter where. They are everywhere. How come it’s snowing on my screen?

    Like

  14. Lovely Villa. Any spare room for a couple of impoverished artiste? We’ll bring own pillows.

    Like

  15. Such lovely architectural details. I think it would be the perfect home for …you guessed it….moi! Of course I do not have the kind of money it would take to purchase or support it but if I had it you would always have a place to stay. Maybe even your own “wing”. Ah, well, I can dream.

    Like

Now it's your turn

