Via Garibaldi, Castello

This rather drab looking building began life in the 15th century, with the third floor added in the 17th century. (According to Egle Trincanato, Venetian domestic architecture)

P1050315

Keen eyed readers will note that the bar at the corner, with the red awning, is the very one featured at the top of my blog page. It’s the bacaro Strani, a good place for cicchetti and an aperitivo, for instance a spritz. (Campari, please.)

It’s also an ideal place to sit and watch the afternoon passegiata. (The gathering of people of all ages for a time of strolling, chatting, walking the dog, showing off the new baby, doing some shopping for the evening meal.)

P1050318

The overcast, drizzly day didn’t help much in my attempts to present this dwelling in a better light. Maybe you can find it on a nicer day, with soft sunlight caressing those ancient walls.

P1050316

Still, the windows, balcony and the ornamental motifs do add a touch of grace to this example of domestic architecture.

P1050317

27 Comments

Filed under Venice

27 responses to “Via Garibaldi, Castello

  1. A wonderful person introduced us to Strani a few years ago, and we have been back ! Great place, very local – but don’t feel shunned or ignored, its just very social and family/friends oriented.

    Like

    • It’s when you’re in a venue like that, that you wish your parents had insisted you learn Italian at school, even though it wasn’t being taught in those days. Our parents should have known we would need it, and moved heaven and earth to give us that opportunity. I hope you get back again, very soon, Randallo. 🙂

      Like

  2. Anything that is older than one hundred years will do us. No zinc alume fencing or pebble-crete drive-ways or the rattle of the Victa lawn mower. Do Venetians use leaf blowers? (Hope not)
    Do they use Venetian Blinds?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the idea of the passegiata. Sounds so civilized.

    Like

    • Our cities might not lend themselves to this, although the shopping malls could be the meeting place, I guess. In smaller towns like Dismal Swamp, all the shops would be shut when folks wanted to get out and stroll and talk. We also don’t have the sense of neighbourhood that many European places do.

      Like

  4. Hi ytaba36, I’m a virtual book tour coordinator for Italy Book Tours and I wanted to ask you a question. I don’t see any contact info on your blog.

    Thanks so much!

    Laura Fabiani

    Like

  5. Here is some info I found re: Henry James and the Wildner. (Let’s see if this will post.)
    http://www.hotelwildner.com/imgcms/gallery/pressgallery6.pdf

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I often wonder about the history of apartments/hotels that I’ve stayed in over the years. The different people that have lived in the building….the generations of changes. I would love to time travel.
    I stayed at the Pensione Wildner for a few years. Then I found out that my favorite room was the room that Henry James had stayed in while writing a book.
    There is just so much history….

    Like

  7. I spent a lot of time on that street this last trip and probably walked by it several time. Will have to stop in for a cappuccino next visit….which sadly won’t be for quite a while. But I’m making progress on my “Dream”.
    Funny that bar looks so much bigger in your header. It’s probably the same angle hotel and apartment websites use to make their rooms look twice as big as they are.

    Like

    • You can stop for some cicchetti and watch the passing parade, in the afternoon, Michelle.

      Like

      • And I could probably have a gingerino with that. I plan to do that next time I’m there. Unless I want to identify myself as a “tourist” and order a cappuccino after 11 am. I have been known to do that.
        There are also a couple of places just over the bridge (dell’Arco) from my place where you can do the same. It was so nice to stay in a neighborhood where the passagiata was in full form!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. They ask in, that bar, if you would like your spritz made with Prosecco or ‘still’ wine- the only place I’ve ever been asked.

    Like

  9. Liz

    The building does look nice and I love your header photo. I would like to have a drink there some day. Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  10. Drab? You call that drab? Let me walk you round some HK housing estates and then you’ll know what drab looks like. We could do with some of that 15C drabness here. 😉

    Like

  11. To me Italian architecture is interesting to see.

    Like

  12. It’s just a gnarly old building sitting there, who would know that it has a long past! I frequented that bar a long time before I found out it was part of a 15th century building.

    Use the new word wisely.

    Like

  13. the building is cool – and neat to see that it is the featured photo for your blog – and thanks for the new word:
    passegiata

    Like

Now it's your turn

