The Ghetto, Cannaregio

034

031

20140183

20140184

035

4 Comments

Filed under Venice

4 responses to “The Ghetto, Cannaregio

  1. Pardon my barbaric approach: I used Google Translate and the two words on the first relief mean Board and God; so it perhaps means synagogue although I truly like “God’s Board.” I didn’t even try the second one. Does anybody know Hebrew?
    Thanks for posting Yvonne. Where are they exactly? Ghetto Nuovo, Vecchio?

    Like

    • Sheesh, I’m impressed that you know how to do a translation from Hebrew on Google! I think the first one was taken as I approached the Ghetto Nuovo from Calle Farnese. I really can’t recall where the other was taken, Daniel.

      Like

  2. This is one of the 5 synagogues in this area of Venice, 2 of which are still in use. It is an area steeped in history, like most parts of Venice.

    http://www.sacred-destinations.com/italy/venice-ghetto

    You’ll see wooden walls in other parts of Venice, for example, in Castello.

    Like

  3. That one wooden wall seems odd with all the plaster everywhere else. I like the old style of the woodwork though.

    Like

Now it's your turn

