Thank you, Alberto

Some time ago, a friend on Facebook posted something that certainly grabbed my attention.  I wrote the  location and details in my planning notebook, and I plotted it on a map of  Cannaregio.

This morning, it was one of the places I visited.

Now, this doesn’t look like much, does it?

P1050413

The point of interest is a little to the right of the panel shown above.

P1050409

You still can’t really see what aroused my interest, can you?

OK, let’s get a little closer, and do a bit of colour boosting.

P1050411

P1050412

P1050410

Now, you can see traces of an ancient fresco above the doorway of Calle Rielo, 431. Alberto mentioned that the house dates from 1300-1400.

I think this is worth getting excited about!

13 Comments

Filed under Venice

13 responses to “Thank you, Alberto

  1. I love it. Keep them coming, Yvonne. I saw the glimmerings in your second photo.
    Remember those frescoes our gondolier pointed out to us on the Grand Canal in 2010??

    And, Andrew, I love the story about the bridge. I’ll need to research the one outside my apartment and the palazzo across the calle! Now that’s a project for me between now and December.

    Like

  2. Sig. Nonloso

    That is really fantastic, Yvonne. I have to check it out myself sometime soon. It’s hard to believe that many of the palazzi on the Grand Canal also used to be frescoed by housepainters like Titian and Giorgione. But as the architectural historian Deborah Howard pointed out, the rich people who commissioned such frescoes were well aware how brief a span they’d last in the climate of Venice and the transience of such great expense was what made it such a status symbol. Like the gold and lapis lazuli used on the Ca’ d’Oro, it was a way for the wealthy to show that they were so loaded they could spring for the priciest materials just to watch them wear away–then replace them again… I wonder if some moneybags lived within the doorway you show above?

    Like

    • Thank you for adding that perspective to this type of ‘decoration’ that would have been prevalent in many parts of the world. It surely would be interesting to know who lived in what seems to be a relatively humble part of the city.

      (And it reminds me, my home needs some painting when I get back to Dismal Swamp. I guess Titian is out of the question, for a few reasons.)

      Buona notte.

      Like

  3. The Bridge of Miracles!?!? Which one is that, please?

    I have a few more findings to share in the next few weeks, and I do hope you will like them. I’ve only crossed off about 4 things on my long list. Maybe I’ll have to come back?

    Like

    • Andrew

      The bridge is from Fondamente Priuli to Calle della Toletta in Dorsoduro From A Lover of Venice:
      According to legend, seven sisters lived in the palace to the left of the bridge as you look in the direction of the Grand Canal. Six were beautiful and one, Marina, ugly. A boatman called Matteo wanted to marry one of the beautiful sisters and visited the palace often but fell ill, prey to a debilitating disease that made him weak and frail. He attributed his illness to witchcraft perpetrated by the ugly sister who had constantly avoided him. One Good Friday, as he approached the palace from the bridge, he saw through one of the windows Marina praying and crying in front of a crucifix.
      He was moved by this tender scene and by the sudden apparition on the sky of six bright stars and a dim one. But the six stars soon disappeared and the dim one became so bright that it lit the whole sky. At once Matteo was overcome with emotion and a new and unknown feeling for Marina took hold. He saw her beautiful. Marina also confessed her love for him. In fact, she had been praying to God that his life was spared and hers taken instead.
      Matteo was cured and they were both happily married. The name Maravegie makes reference to all these wonders that once took place on this bridge.

      Like

  4. Andrew

    What we need to do is to go around en masse and each of us talk about our own discoveries. You’re in charge, Miss. Our joint knowledge would make a great guide book. Apart fom this what would you choose? I’d talk about the Bridge of Miracles.

    Like

  5. I reckon we need secretaries to plan our intinerary each day, Mary. I always seem to be adding to the list, also. Tough for us, eh?

    Like

  6. MaryK

    Another fantastic treasure to add to my always bulging list of things I just have to go and see in Venice……. The list never seems to get any shorter – but I’m not complaining – it’s just wonderful that even after multiple visits I always feel that I’ve so much more to discover!

    Many thanks to Alberto, and you for this gem.

    Like

  7. Yvonne…what a marvel!! i wonder how long it took the artist to paint this? Where did he go for his/her lunch break?

    Like

  8. Livia

    Carissima Yvonne,
    Absolutely exciting, noted the location, and will get a closer look at my next trip to Venice. Thanks a lot for this hidden treasure.

    Like

Now it's your turn

