Thank you, BluOscar and Claudio

A blog that I follow consistently, and often use as a reference for ‘treasure hunts’ in Venice, is that of Bluoscar: http://bluoscar.blogspot.com/  (Another, written by Fausto, a born and bred Venetian, deeply in love with his city, is http://alloggibarbaria.blogspot.com/  ) I can heartily recommend these to you, as well as many others listed on my Blogroll.

Some time ago, I wrote a post about some door knockers I had seen in Dorsoduro. They were quite different from other, more artistic examples you will see in Venice. These are the specimens I showed you:

Dorsoduro Dorsoduro

A couple of days ago, I wrote to BluOscar, with a request to his friend Claudio, who displays deep knowledge of the door hardware to be seen in Venice. I hoped that Claudio could tell me something about these specimens. Well, of course he could, and the answer came back promptly.

Here (as translated by Google), is what he said:

Dear Yvonne, thank you for your kind praise and inform you that the clappers from you photographed belong to a minority of its kind on the doors of Venice: in fact they are both made of wrought iron, while most of the others in the Serenissima are fused copper alloy (bronze or brass), for obvious reasons of greater resistance of these materials to weathering (by) rich sea salt.
However, having visited the city several times, I must say that it seems to me that it was in Dorsoduro, for some reason, is concentrated the greatest amount of these iron structures (not sure if our expert friend Oscar has had the same feeling).
The first clapper heart-shaped part of the type called “ring-modified”, is made flat section with geometric practiced chisel; has an articulation of the type “snare” and, inferiorly, a knob for gripping by the hand , also decorated, typical of northern Italy but in particular the city of Venice. Typically these types of clappers were present in pairs, one for each door leaf, and also served as handles. The specimen photographed was probably the early sixteenth century.
The other clapper is of the type “hammer” which is why more properly defined with the name of “knocker”; has a massive body of quadrangular section and a handle of a now indefinable zoomorphic shape firmly secured to the body itself. This type was generally present in a single copy of one leaf of the door, while the other was placed a fixed handle. It too is anchored with an articulation of the same type as the previous clapper. For the great mass certainly possessed had to produce a large percussion. (I attribute)  this example the Gothic style, immediately preceding the clapper to heart.
Keep in mind that these pieces have four or five centuries of life and therefore the doors that host them today certainly can not be the original, (are) long deteriorated, which is why the clappers, now exposed only for decorative reasons, may appear arranged in a manner improper.

So, thank you for the information so graciously shared by these two gentlemen (and all the many others who have helped me in the past).  May 2013 be a year of wonders for them, and for all of my faithful readers.

Felice Anno Nuovo a tutti/e.

(Photo courtesy of Photobucket)

(Photo courtesy of Photobucket)

22 Comments

Filed under Venice

22 responses to “Thank you, BluOscar and Claudio

  1. Happy New Year to you Yvonne !
    I know these two knockers, I’ve seen already near Ca’Rezzonico.
    When I ‘ve taken pictures, I though it’s for people not venetian because it’s very modern art !
    Danielle

    Like

  2. I love the heart shaped one and I too wish that form of art was still used today! They are so evocative of a time where we actually opened the door to people! (kind of scary to have strangers at our door now)

    Like

  3. Happy New Year, bella! Here’s to another Venice trip in your horizon… baci e abbracci.

    Like

    • Ciao, Shell, maybe I can post some photos that will inspire you to loosen the velcro straps that keep you doing your divine illustrations of Paris? Maybe I can find Hugh, or Johnny??

      Like

  4. JoanneH

    Happy and Heathful New Year to all

    Like

  5. jan Graham

    Knockers apart,,. just keep up the good work Yvonne enjoy your blogs and the others
    Wish you a Happy New Year

    Like

  6. Melissa

    There goes Yvonne, getting her knockers out, AGAIN!! 🙂 All the very best for a happy, peaceful and joyous new year! x

    Like

  7. Cioa, Maitè, e Felice Anno nuovo a te! 🙂

    Like

  8. Bonne et heureuse année 2013 Yvonne ! A presto !

    Like

  9. I had never heard of it till Karen suggested it for my problem at my apartment. Of course catching a woman with her dog in front of my door actually stopped that problem. Who would have thought a plastic bottle full of water would deter a dog?

    Like

  10. I always think of Yvonne when I see “knockers” in Venice…along with a few other things she has brought to our attention.
    Thank you so much for continuing to inform us dear one.
    Happy New Year to you and yours also!

    Like

    • Some people are thought of for far less esoteric reasons than knockers! 🙂

      Ciao to you and little Lili.

      Like

      • And you know that’s not the only thing in Venice that I see and think of you. Never noticed those concrete things in corners till you started posting pictures of them and then I discovered that there is a doggie version and if you see bottles of water in doorways….it’s to deter the local dogs from lifting their legs there. That was probably the major thing I learned this trip. Oh, other than the way to and from my very hidden apartment. That only took me three days.
        Already starting to plan my way back. Maybe this coming December(!).

        Like

      • That bottle of water thing is known over here, too. Maybe the Italian migrants brought that knowledge with them?

        Like

  11. Well, you give me the money, and pay for the postage, and I’ll get you one, next time I’m in Venice.

    I was so delighted to get the information about these unique knockers, I’m glad I happened to see them and realise they were a little bit different.

    Like

  12. I love door knockers and I wish people would still use them.

    Like

Now it's your turn

