Mucking around in boats again

Speed

Steady

 

Advertisements

17 Comments

Filed under Venice

17 responses to “Mucking around in boats again

  1. Sarah Dunant is another author I appreciate! If you get into Jeff’s Fictional Cities site, you’ll go berserk with all the titles. Oh, have you read The Undrowned Child? It’s for “older children”, but that posed no problems for this reader! You may have more time for reading now! (With school officially over.)

    Like

    • Caroline

      Thanks for the further tip! Being very disciplined at present, spending each morning on 2 hours looking for work + 2 hours revising Italian. But I was finding plenty of time for reading anyway, since the altana started calling & we started having the excuse of it being too hot to go out in the afternoon 🙂

      Like

  2. Caroline

    Hi Yvonne, thanks, I’ve now ordered ‘The Glassblower’ for when it’s released for Kindle quite cheaply later this week – the same author seems to have lots of books set in other Italian cities too, so could keep me going for a while! I noticed the Amazon blurb said ‘for fans of Sarah Dunant’ and I’ve recently enjoyed her 3 Italian historical novels.

    We are big fans of the ‘Churches of Venice’ site (wish it was available as a Kindle book) and I mean to email Jeff to thank him for it, but haven’t looked at ‘Fictional Cities’ yet – must remedy that.

    Like

  3. Michelle

    Yes, some would consider “The Glassblower” a little “girlie” but I found the history and descriptions lovely and obvious that the author knows her Venice. I’ve been wearing the glass heart I got when we took our trip to Burano (although it was made on Murano). I’ll be looking for the other book. Immersing myself in Venice as usual.
    126 days and the ticket is booked!

    Like

  4. There was some discussion on Facebook about some new regulations regarding fireworks and boats, for the Festa. Did you hear anything about that? Did you get to see some of the action from the altana? And, no more school for you!

    [I just read a book centred on the plague, Palladio and THAT church, Doge Sebastiano Venier, etc. It’s The Venetian Contract, by Marina Fiorato. She also wrote The Glassblower of Murano.]

    Like

    • Caroline

      Hi Yvonne – no, didn’t hear about that. And thanks, we had a lovely view from the altana.

      It will be strange not going to school any more, after 3 months. And it did get us up in the mornings! (mostly 🙂 )

      Haven’t read either of those books so thanks for mentioning them – do you recommend them? I overdosed for a while on old novels set in Venice which were free for the Kindle, but will be ready to immerse myself again when I’ve finished my current book!

      Like

      • They’re not bad books, Caroline, and give a little of the history and feel of Venice centuries ago. Jeff Cotton http://www.fictionalcities.co.uk/ said he found The Glassblower a little ‘girlie.’ He has oodles of reviews of books and movies set in Venice, Florence and London on his site. He’s the author of the splendid Churches of Venice blog.

        Read Erla’s blog (I am not making this up), or Fausto’s (Alloggia Barbaria) to find out about the new regulations affecting the Festa Redentore.

        Like

  5. Caroline

    A lovely pairing of pictures, Yvonne!

    We’ve just got back from watching the opening procession across the bridge for the Festa del Redentore, the people staking out places along the Zattere and all the boats gathering (followed by a leisurely Negroni at Nico 🙂 ); hoping to get an OK view of the fireworks later from the altana. I have to say that 5 hours or more in a small boat, with no loo facilities, didn’t really appeal – and that was before it turned out really windy and choppy tonight! But I daresay that if you are brought up on the water it’s different.

    You may that remember that our first (and hopefully last) experience of a water taxi was when we arrived in early March with our 10 bags – it was quite warm sitting inside in our winter coats, but I suppose we didn’t get the full experience possible in warm weather!

    Like

  6. Some of my favorite memories of Venice are in boats. I have a dear friend that has taken me several times on incredible journeys thru the waterways of Venezia!!

    Like

  7. Michelle

    Double Brrrrrrrr!

    Like

  8. Barb

    The two fellows in the “steady” boat look quite cold. When it’s chilly weather for us, we jump in the car and turn on the heater. For these folks who spend so much time on the water in their open boats, that is not an option. Brrrrrr!

    Like

Now it's your turn

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s