A pretty picture or two, especially for Sono

These were all taken in the church San Fantin, which is right in front of La Fenice, in the sestiere of San Marco. It is not normally open to the public, but for some lucky reason, it remained open for several weeks, after it had been used as a Biennale site. Like so many other churches in Venice, it is sadly in need of restoration. The lighting was dim, so I do apologise for the same dim quality of the photos!

In his wonderful website Churches of Venice, Jeff Cotton describes this crucifix: “Also, a 15th-century Tuscan polychrome wood crucifix the restoration of which was paid for by Venice in Peril in 2002. This crucifix was the one that was carried in front of condemned prisoners from the dungeons to the place of execution between the two columns on the Piazzetta.”    Please seesanfan

I wonder how old this baptismal font is, and whether it was the original one in the church?

There was another baptismal font, much less ancient in appearance.

A lovely stained glass window

A small portion of the pavimento (floor).

If you are interested in churches, I hope you have the good fortune to find San Fantin open when you are in Venice.

12 Comments

Filed under Venice

12 responses to “A pretty picture or two, especially for Sono

  1. Caroline

    Interesting to see these pics, thanks! We very much enjoyed last year’s Biennale installation there (& the other part outside San Stae) but the church was very dark to show off the installation so we couldn’t make out any of the ‘normal’ features.

    Like

    • I guess we take so much for granted, Caroline, when I think of the scores of churches we CAN just walk into, in Venice, and other places. But, this was an unexpected treat, and I’m still waiting for that lucky day when
      La Maddalena will be open.

      Like

  2. Is it just me…but I find it doubly annoying that these churches are closed after our (public/charity) money has been spent restoring them and their fixtures. Spiffy pics YT btw.

    Like

  3. Sono D. Chicago

    “This crucifix was the one that was carried in front of condemned prisoners from the dungeons to the place of execution between the two columns on the Piazzetta.”

    Wow, talk about having your cross to bear! Thing looks like it weighs a tonne.

    Nice Greek Madona, too. Thanks for the pretty pics!

    Like

    • The things I do for … you, Sono. 🙂

      I hoped you’d like Madonna, she’s a singer, isn’t she?? Goes to the gym a lot?? But, I thought she was Italian.

      Like

  4. I don’t know why it happened to be open, Susie, and there were so few people taking advantage of it, any time I passed or went in. The ‘guardians’ must have found time dragging as they stood around on those cold days.

    Like

  5. How many times over the years have I stood in front of that church, hoping to find it open one day.

    Thanks for sharing it with us!

    Like

  6. The draftsmanship always amazes me.

    Like

  7. Barb

    How lucky you were to find San Fantin open! I will now start my “places to check out” list for my September trip but I suppose I may have to wait until the next Biennale. 😦

    Like

Now it's your turn

