In one of the courtyards of the hospital, Venice

The hospital of Venice is housed in a sprawling, rambling edifice. One of the entries is through the Scuola Grande di San Marco, right next to the Chiesa Santi Giovanni e Paolo (Zanipolo). To me, the Scuola outshines its neighbouring church.

This is one entry to the hospital, the other main one is on the Fondamenta Nuove.  A little of the church is seen on the right of the photo.

It was fascinating to wander through the corridors of the hospital, and find the entrances to several courtyards.

Not many of them seem used much, except by the resident cats.

I wondered if ambulant patients are ever pointed to them, so they could have a bit of exercise in the fresh air, and examine the well heads in each courtyard, if they were interested.

Detail on the well head

Noticed on the well head

This was not in a courtyard, but in one of the corridors inside the hospital.

I can tell you that I have truly never seen a hospital like this one! You’d need a good sense of direction, the first few times you ventured into it. But, what beauty and history!

21 Comments

Filed under Venice

21 responses to “In one of the courtyards of the hospital, Venice

  1. Bert

    “Yvonne, Mark and I laughed so when I broke a rib on my second day in Venice.” – Am I reading that right?
    Definitely an example of “it only hurts when I laugh”, I should think.
    I recommend the library (follow signs for ‘biblioteca’) in the hospital to everybody. It gets a mention in “Secret Venice”, but not a lot of people seem to know about it.

    Like

    • I’ll tell you what, Bert, if someone gets in, I don’t want to hear about it. I was tempted to climb over the ground floor gates, but the doors were locked, so I would only have achieved more exercise!

      Like

    • Bert, I wish it had only hurt when I laughed! I was in constant pain, but it did not affect my ability to walk, eat or drink, three of my favorite things. I must admit, I did consume a lot of alcohol on that trip. 😉

      Like

  2. Tonight is our “Super Moon”. We should be seeing it shortly. We live amongst hills and a small mountain so we see the dear full moon around 2 or 3 AM shining through our bedroom windows.

    Yvonne, Mark and I laughed so when I broke a rib on my second day in Venice. There was a BIG part of me that wanted to go into the hospital that “no one ever came out of”. Ha! I would have and had a spritz right afterward!

    Like

    • Darn, I wish you had plucked up that courage, and made the trip to the hospital, in an ambulanza, Susie. Promise you’ll do that next time! 🙂

      I was so proud of myself, I actually crawled out of bed at an hour with some low number, and saw the moon again this morning.

      Like

  3. Karen’s blog is great! Thanks to Yvonne’s blog roll, that is how I discovered it. I really enjoyed reading through her archives and detailing her knee replacement surgery at that hospital. I also very much enjoyed reading about her PT at Fatebenefratelli. She really had to go through a lot to get to her PT appointments!

    We were very fortunate to meet some rather well known residents, back in ’91 and continued to visit with them over the years. They would joke “if you are sick in Venice what is the first thing you get? A plane ticket to New York”. It has also been referred to us as “the hospital you go into and you never come out”. However, Karen’s blog gives a first hand experience and a pretty positive one.

    Yvonne, darn it, I have never been inside! You brazen hussy you, in your red coat! Did you just breeze on in? An open door is an invitation sort of thing?

    Taking a page out of your notebook Carissima…

    Like

    • Hello, Susie. Did you get to see the moon last night, or will you see it tonight? Pretty spectacular it was.

      Yes, I just wandered in and wandered around. No one gave me a second glance, but I was ready to scamper, if challenged! I wasn’t in any clinical areas, I just went past one place where lots of people were taking numbers and waiting for something to happen.

      One part that was not accessible is the church, San Lazzaro dei Mendicanti, which is seldom open, it seems. Here is a link to some information about it, on the Churches of Venice website: http://www.churchesofvenice.co.uk/castello.htm#sanlazz

      I also went back a few times, hoping to get into the medical library, which is upstairs from the Scuola entry. But, it was always closed, despite assurances from various hospital staff that it would be open “Tomorrow, at 9”!

      Like

  4. From a medical point of view – would you want to be a nurse there? Would you want to be a patient there?

    Like

    • It reminded me a bit of some of the big old hospitals I worked in, in Canada and Australia, in that you’d need a guide to take you through all the twists and turns. I have a feeling that medical care/technology is pretty darn good in Italy, as a general rule.

      Like

  5. Michelle

    And Karen’s knee replacement surgery and physical therapy follow up as reported on her blog is extremely informative and entertaining.

    Like

    • I always look forward to a new post from Karen, Michelle!

      Like

    • She’s probably out prowling with her nice new camera. But, yes, do tell her we’re all looking for more of Life in Venice, starring the Hendersons.

      Like

      • Michelle

        I figured she out and about with the camera. Is it the same one you have??? I have one on my favorites at Best Buy that I’m thinking about getting….42x’s zoom! Wow.

        Like

      • She should be sound asleep right now, dreaming sweet dreams. I think her camera would be a later model than mine, but it is a Panasonic Lumix for sure. I think most people are quite happy with Panasonic cameras.

        Like

        • Michelle

          And I love the Nikon Coolpix…and the new one I’m looking at is also a Nikon Coolpix. I looked up that Panasonic model and like it too.

          Like

    • Hi, Linda. I sure do know Karen and Mike! Thanks for the link, for folks who may not have found her blog (in my blogroll). It’s worth reading her archives, to find out how they made their way from the USA to Venice.

      Like

  6. Yvonne…..my close Venetian friends ran me thru the corridors on our way to the vaporetto stop. It is amazing and huge!
    Do you know Karen Henderson….she’s an American living in Venice. She had knee surgery at the hospital. I’ll ask her if she discovered the courtyards.
    Thanx so much for taking the time to post!!!
    cheers to you dear…….

    Like

Now it's your turn

