Castello, Campo Ruga 327-328

This is another of the domestic dwellings featured in the Venice domestic architecture booklet I mentioned in this post castello

The authors had this to say about this 17th century palazzo : “probably built for two shop-keepers or boat-owners (there are two separate entrances and two shops on the ground floor); it has a lively robust air.”

I did wonder which of the two owners would have staked a claim on the balcony, or did they take turns with access? What do you think?

25 Comments

Filed under Venice

25 responses to “Castello, Campo Ruga 327-328

  1. Sig. Nonloso

    I was going to respond that in in the true Italian spirit the balcony was contested–sometimes openly, often insidiously–by the two proprietors and their heirs for generations and generations, but, actually, the whole menege a trois concept is much more interesting…

    To Joanne Hoefer: there’s a second-hand shop near the end of Calle Lunga S Barnaba–follow it all the way until you almost reach the church of S. Sebastiano–but it deals in mostly women’s clothing, some costume jewelry, vintage sunglasses, but I don’t think any books. I believe the church mercatini of San Martino and Campo S Maria Formosa have some books among all their other stuff, but the titles were of so little interest that I’m now having a hard time recalling anything I saw. I’m very fond of books myself & I can’t recall coming across any place (so far) that offered much or anything of interest. In spite of its illustrious history as a site of book printing, I get the impression that Venice isn’t an especially bookish place. And those who are bookish seem to know very well of their books’ value… But the hunting is always fun.

    Like

    • Joanne Hoefer

      thanks for the tip yes the hunting is fun and then I can take a part of my expenses off my taxes because I am working. An actually by scarfing around – I did fine a couple years ago a lovely 16th century book on horse care in Venice and best of all the price was in the ball park.

      Like

    • Hi, Siggi! Oh, and there’s often a fellow out on the Fondamenta San Sebastiano (or maybe Fond del Soccorso), in Dorsoduro, with lots of books.

      We’ll just have to get that bad crowd to do some research for us about that balcony; they’ll no doubt leap at the chance.

      Like

  2. Andrew

    Nobody wants to get plonked on the balcony. It’s rather narrow, Ms.Y.

    Like

  3. Rob C

    Is it just me or are there 3 doors?

    The one on te left might be to a staircase that give exclusive to the 2nd or 3rd floors, It’s likely the floors aren’t divided equally, leaving the balcony for one dwelling only.

    Many of these Buildings are totally different inside to their original, built, configuration.

    Like

    • I should have included the line sketch (from 1948), Rob, which shows that central door opening to a corridor leading to stairs to the next floor. And, I agree, what it was like in the 17th century and now, is likely quite different. I’d dearly love to have a snoop inside.

      Like

  4. Haha good one 🙂
    But… not too much room on that balcony for having a caffé or a prosecco on it anyway 😉
    Your blog always makes me long to go to Venezia again…
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Hello, Cessie, and welcome. No, it’s not a huge balcony for any outdoor activities!

      When I look at other blogs from Venice, I get the same yearning as you describe. That Venice, she has magic in her, hasn’t she?

      Like

  5. I hope we get to hear from Andrew (and the rest of the bad crowd) about this, Michelle.

    Like

  6. Michelle

    I like Darlene’s idea….
    and no I haven’t been talking to Andrew.

    Like

  7. I think it was a menage a trois and the woman took which ever man she was with that night onto the balcony with her.

    Like

  8. Joanne Hoefer

    Perhaps they were like Cheng and Yang or like their wives sisters who would not be parted. Lovely looking home. BTW do you know where there are any thrift shops in Venice?

    Like

    • That’s good thinking, Joanne! It’s a beautiful place, and easy to find!

      There is a second hand shop right near the Carmini church, and I recall passing one when I was walking from Campo SS Apostoli to the Fondamenta Nove. Oh, and another in San Polo, but I can’t give you any details. Maybe someone will know about it, and other ones, as well!

      Like

Now it's your turn

