Castello, 1094-1098 (Calle delle Furlane)

In my last week in Venice, I bought this excellent little publication, in a bookshop in Dorsoduro (Libreria Toletta). It covers domestic architecture in Castello and Dorsoduro, from the 12th to the 18th centuries. How I wish I had bought it earlier in my stay! Each of the featured dwellings has a brief description, with line drawings, and often a sketch of the interior structure. The original book was published in 1948, so you may notice some changes to the buildings when you seek them out.

One of the sets of buildings  was on Calle delle Furlane, in Castello. These homes are from the 17th century.


These photos show you the current state of this group of dwellings. The alley is quite narrow, so I didn’t capture an overview.

Castello, 1094

Another two-tone building

Pride of ownership!

Even the ends of the clothesline supports are colour co-ordinated.

25 Comments

Filed under Venice

25 responses to “Castello, 1094-1098 (Calle delle Furlane)

  1. I was able to see the first 2 episodes on Youtube, courtesy of some nice person who put them there. But the subsequent episodes aren’t there, darn it. As though we don’t have enough info about Venice, eh?

    I sincerely appreciate the comments I receive, they really make my blog come alive!

    Like

  2. That’s an interesting observation, Jan, and does make sense. And, having a fireplace on an external wall might also use less of the precious internal space. Where are the architects when we need them?

    Jan, I really look forward to the comments people make. They often lead us into a different direction, or a new understanding about some aspect of Venice.

    Like

    • Jan pag

      Steve’s contribution to the topic of external chimneys – he read that they were designed to be external because the original houses were wooden -which also makes sense

      Like

    • Jan pag

      How nice of you to say that, My brain feels like mush some days! Did i see on an earlier blog that you are now configured for BBC iPlayer? Have you been able to Watch Venice 24/7?? We have also enjoyed Montalbano though it’s obviously not set in Venice.

      Like

  3. Jan pag

    I really enjoyed following today’s threads. And sorry about Mood, we had several good coffees there but it was always quiet.
    To change the subject completely – I am fascinated by some Venetian house construction – the way that the chimney and presumably the fireplace is on an external wall, often at the front. I guess that this is to attempt to cool the premises during hot months when the fire would have been used for cooking. I noticed the same in some parts if Portugal. Here in wet and windy Wales on older houses the fire and chimney is usually more central presumably to retain the heat. Anybody else with thoughts on this?

    Like

  4. Sig. Nonloso

    Yes, Yvonne, you may call me, Sig. I need a pipe now. I’ll have to check out that book. The Castello info has an obvious appeal, but I’m just as interested to see what it has to say (show) about Dorsoduro. Thanks for the great tip.

    Like

  5. Sig. Nonloso

    Selling books by weight is interesting: in the US some bookstores sell them by the foot (that is, by how much shelf space a mass of them will fill up placed upon your shelf). This is a service offered for those non-readers with shelves to fill (and, inevitably, money to burn) who are concerned only that the spines of the books “look good.” I’ll admit that while I was running a bookstore in NYC I sold books to this kind of buyer more than once: it’s an excellent way to clean out a bookstore basement. And in the most extreme instance of this, the rich young woman actually got a lot of really great, if obscure, hardcover books on art and history–not that she’d ever notice, or care. (This was just before NYC went thoroughly Sex & the City and dumb rich folks no longer even felt the need to pretend they read anymore.)

    Like

    • Darn, I just looked at my bookshelves. I might have to get some dummy fronts to cover my scruffy lot, and make people think I have read all those classics, Siggie. ( If I may go a step further and use a pet name!)

      Like

  6. Other Yvonne

    A Venetian Duplex! You find the greatest tidbits.

    Like

  7. Bert

    Oh! So it was ‘just’ a bookmark. I had seen when the Libreria Toletta has a sale on they sell books by weight. Perhaps that only applies to second-hand books, or books they can’t get rid of any other way. I’ll see if they have any copies left in May.

    Like

  8. Michelle

    Ah, something for your next trip…and seeking out that book will be on top of my list in November.

    Like

    • Good morning, Michelle. Part of my homework can be to locate them all on one of my maps, and plan the best itinerary for seeing them. (The next part is leaving that info at home, of course.)

      Like

  9. No, there were several more when I made my purchase, Sig. (May I call you that?) I don’t think there would be a huge demand for them. There are quite a number of really interesting places not far from your abode. I was totally frustrated by the lack of time to explore them all, and I didn’t even touch any of the Dorsoduro buildings. That part of my book is virginal!

    Like

  10. The bookmark from the Libreria Acqua Alta (the most crowded bookstore in the world!), is one of my prized possessions! Now, obscure one, what connection is there with weight? I’m sure you’re waiting to tell me.

    Have a look at the Piazza webcams; I’m pretty sure they’re on the home stretch with the Campanile work. Will they be done by the 25th??

    Like

  11. Sig. Nonloso

    What a great find! Was it the only copy?

    Like

  12. Bert

    You bought the book in Libreria Toletta, but it had been through the Libreria Acqua Alta (the most beautiful bookshop in the world) at some stage. What a great find, and how I envy you! Was it sold by weight?

    Like

  13. I wish they had booklets of this type for the other sestieri, Jan.

    Like

  14. jan Graham

    Looks good Yvonne,

    Like

Now it's your turn

