More on the Correr courtyard

One of the rooms we went into had a set of water doors, opening onto a view across a canal (the Rio dei Giardinetti) to the small public garden (Giardini ex Reali). Aren’t those windows magnificent?

Fausto pointed out the old bridge that could be dropped down to allow direct access to and from the garden. But, if you look at the previous photo, you will see that time and neglect has pretty much ruined the landing platform.

This is an awning over the landing stage at the water doors. I like that iron work.

A few days later, I went into the gardens, and made my way to a point opposite the water doors and bridge.

Here is the rotted landing stage. And, a parked gondola.

Warning! Warning!

The next photo is not for the squeamish! There were lots of traps with poison bait set in the courtyard. And, here’s evidence they do their job.

14 Comments

Filed under Venice

14 responses to “More on the Correr courtyard

  1. julie

    Lovely Yvonne .. i’m so glad you took me there in Feb, amazing will certainly be back there next time for a closer look

    Like

  2. You’re so right, Susie, we should have started many years ago to try to uncover what she has to offer.

    (Oh, that’s not nice to hear about the anti-coagulants, even though rats are not highly desirable.)

    Like

  3. Susie L

    I love the ironwork and have admired it from afar from the garden-side. Yvonne, a lifetime isn’t long enough to discover all of her charms, is it?

    Poor little rat, that anti-coagulant poison is supposed to be a horrible death.

    Like

  4. Poor Uncle Harry … 🙂

    Like

  5. Joanne Hoefer

    A nice reminder of those windows to have a pair and a yard outside them would be a slice of heaven. I will have to look down instead of up next time I go to Correr I am usually heading for the books and papers as that is my business, and now I know what happened to uncle Harry

    Like

  6. Barb

    There really are some very lovely ironworks to be seen in Venice. At one time I thought I’d photograph all the beautiful ones covering the windows but soon discovered that there were just too many.

    I think I’d rather see that dead rat than a live one!! On our first couple of visits we would often see them scurrying around the trash cans at the
    vaporetto stops late at night but I don’t believe I’ve seen one in at least 4 or 5 years.

    Like

  7. Old and decrepit at home looks old and decrepit. Home come it looks so charming in Venice?

    Like

  8. Michelle

    That’s probably why I’ve never been in a museum there….too many wonders to photograph just wandering around the canals and calles. I love architectural details…windows, doors, fences, the way nature clings to those things also. I’m putting the link to this part of you blog in my folder for November.
    Grazie, bella.

    Like

    • I do have a feeling of fondness for the Correr museum, and parts of the Ducal Palace, where you can see some of the original columns and capitals, for example. Oh, and I went to the Naval museum twice this time!

      Like

  9. There certainly have been (and still are) some highly skilled artisans in Italy.

    Like

  10. Other Yvonne

    Yvonne you are my kind of Venice Tragic! This is my idea of art. My whole family works in building construction of some type,woodwork, ironwork,glass company…stained glass. It’s in my blood. Love the beautiful iron balconies in Italy.

    Like

Now it's your turn

