Near Rialto market – part 3

It’s not often you see the metal pieces that made up the working parts of the old wells.

Lovely old vera da pozzo, showing equipment used to draw water

 

A church that is so easy to walk past, because it is tucked away just off a busy thoroughfare, is San Giovanni Elemosinaro. After visiting this Chorus pass church, I stepped outside to look at the campanile. It warranted a close-up view.

[To find out more about this church, and also San Giacometto, go to the San Polo pages on  http://www.churchesofvenice.co.uk/ ]

Anyone who has visited the Rialto market will have seen this clock face, on San Giacometto. On Churches of Venice, this 24 hour clock is described as “ever wrong.”

Clock face, San Giacometto

 As you walk down the left hand side of the bridge, going towards the market, you will see a row of souvenir stands in front of you. Go behind them, where there are shop fronts, and look up. What you are looking at are the remains of frescoes, most of them painted in the early 1500s.

 

 In italy, you often see a pink or blue bow fastened to a door or window, to announce the birth of a daughter or son. I wonder if these two blue bows herald the arrival of twin sons?

 

12 Comments

Filed under Venice

12 responses to “Near Rialto market – part 3

  1. Bert

    Students of iconography and hagiography with have recognised St Peter in your fresco photo. I get a bit of a thrill when I see this sort of thing, knowing that 99% of visitors to Venice will have missed these frescoes. You are right in your answer to Al’s question. Venice has had water piped from the mainland for over 100 years.

    Like

  2. Al

    I have never seen such an intricate well..it’s lovely. I don’t suppose it is still used, is it? As for the frescoes and that stonework…stunning. I bet there aren’t too many people who actually look up to admire this work. I am always looking up at buildings and I get my fair share of funny looks from passers-by.

    Like

    • Good morning, Al. I have read somewhere there’s only one well still in use, and that’s out on an island. Yes, people do wonder why in heck we’re gazing skyward, don’t they? I have to admit to a tiny bit of self-consciousness when I kneel down to capture yet another pissotta.

      Like

  3. Peter

    Thank you so much for such a wonderful piece of Venice each day. Those of use who have Venice in our hearts, but must travel great distances to enjoy her, or press from our memories what details we can; owe you a huge debt. Merci. Gracie. Thank you. Keep up the beautiful work. It is truly appreciated. I look forward to each post. Peter in Montreal.

    Like

    • Well, thank you Peter. My time is drawing to a close here, which causes me a little sadness. But, it has been a true blessing, being able to spend so much time here, and meeting her gracious people, and discovering some of her secrets. There’s always more to find here.

      Your city is another beautiful metropolis, with such charm in the old areas.

      Like

      • Peter

        Now you have made me sad. I just discovered your blog. Who will take me for my daily walk in Venice? Montreal is charming. But more so in the summer. Yet my heart lies in Venice, with her stunning decay, and overlapping jumble of surprises. Thank you again for my daily dose.

        Like

    • Peter, may I refer you to a few blogs in my blogroll? Venice Daily Photo, Alloggi Barbaria, BluOscar, Karen’s blog, Sig. Nonloso, I Am Not Making This Up: these and others can certainly help feed your hunger for Venice.

      Like

  4. I had seen the frescoes a few times, but until I read the information, I didn’t realise what a privilege we have, in 2012, seeing them casually in the open that way.

    Like

  5. Pat

    The frescoes are gorgeous!

    I’m betting it was twin boys too!

    Like

  6. They truly are! Just to the left of where you enter the arcade is information about this arcade, and the frescoes. I had a stiff neck after walking back and forth looking up.

    Hey, you got the post while it was red hot, eh?

    Like

Now it's your turn

