Hairy guy

I first heard about these hairy guys Homo silvanus (Man of the Forests), through Bert (Venice Daily Photo). There are said to be two of these to be found in Venice. I have only seen this one, and I like him very much!

In Dorsoduro , near Campo San Trovaso

I’m just a hairy guy
I’m hairy noon and night
Hair that’s a fright
I’m hairy high and low

Lyrics from Hair

The other one, which I’ll have to seek out, is high up on the wall of the Palazzo Bembo-Boldù, in the  Campiello S. Maria Nova, Cannaregio. The Palazzo itself is from the end of the 14th century, and is now apparently a hotel. You can read more about our lovely hairy guys in Secret Venice, by Thomas Jonglez and Paola Zoffoli. I highly recommend this book to anyone with even a passing interest in Venice.

13 Comments

Filed under Cannaregio, Dorsoduro, Mystery, Venice

13 responses to “Hairy guy

  1. Anna

    Hey
    Peter Ackroyd’s Venice on Studio channel on Foxtel , Fridays at 4 pm

    Like

  2. I sure hope they are compatible types, Andrew, and will appreciate our wonderful city, and their guide. My fingers are crossed. (Makes it darned hard to type.)

    Like

  3. Andrew

    In one hour’s time we are giving lunch for the people who I am taking to Venice in 3 weeks. I’ve only met one of them before; the rest are his family. Hope we all get on! A bit nail-biting.

    Like

  4. Andrew, Andrew!! I would be double delighted to meet you folks. What a great idea you just had. I’ll practice with the “spriss” every day until you get there, OK?

    PS Bring that blasted contract with you!

    Like

  5. Now you’re scaring me, Andrew. I’ll be there for 3 months from mid-November. I can’t afford to duck into Florian’s every time I get cold …

    Like

  6. Andrew

    A hairy suit would be perfect for Venice in winter. I have never been so cold as I was at Carnival in February 1994. So cold in fact that we had to go into the nearest cafe for a hot drink – unfortunately it happened to be Cafe Florian so it cost a bomb.

    Like

  7. I’m hyperventilating for you, Barb! Get a photo of the one in Cannaregio, if you can, please. Grazie.

    Like

  8. Barb

    Just printed out your posting of those “hairy fellows” and I will be hunting them down! Five more days…

    Like

  9. Oh, Sheila, it isn’t long now …

    Like

  10. Secret Venice, Cafe Life, Venice Osterie & Venice Walks (On Foot Guides) are the books we’re taking (along with the computer to access to Randy’s blog!) Can’t wait!

    Like

  11. The only hanging out they do these days, is on the walls of a palazzo.

    Like

  12. djones47

    And just where do these guys find forests to hang out in?

    Like

Now it's your turn

