And now for something completely different

Two decidedly different offerings from Venice.

 Murano is not all about the glass factories and salesrooms. First, from the Chiesa di San Pietro on Murano:  this is just one of the many startling wooden carvings you will find if you go into the sacristy of this church. 

Then there is the Basilica dei Santi Maria e Donato. It has the most wonderful mosaic floors, shown on this video:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXnI784TdLQ

I can’t promise that you will be able to see this next feature in person. She was part of a Russian tour group in Dorsoduro, and I really admired her sparkly stockings! There were little rhinestones all up the seams, and the butterflies also featured glitter.


So, there you go.There is something for everyone in Venice.   🙂

20 Comments

Filed under Art, Artisans, Churches, Fashion, Islands, Mosaic floors, People, stocking seams, Venice

20 responses to “And now for something completely different

  1. Aw, heck, Irina. 🙂

    Like

  2. Irina

    When you see a woman wearing high heels in Venice, you can be sure she’s definitely Russian 😉

    Like

  3. Barb

    Memo to Barb: Next time you write a comment (as I did last night) remember to hit “Post Comment” 😦
    The carvings reminded me very much of those in Scuola di San Rocca, one of my favorite places. And now I am adding “Look for dragon bones” to my trip notes!
    I am sure my 18 and 22 year old granddaughters would love those
    stockings. At that age, it’s all about the “bling”!

    Like

    • Aw, don’t it make you cross when you fail to complete the required actions! You’ll be the first of the group to see those bones, Barb.
      I’ll bet your granddaughters would love them; they were really pretty.

      Like

  4. Michelle

    So, Yvonne, will you find a source for those stockings for us??? I’ll wear them if you will. Maybe not with a skirt that short though…wouldn’t want to be arrested by the fashion police.

    Dragon bones! I’ll have to check them out next time too.

    Like

    • According to Irina, we may have to go to Russia to source them! Michelle, they’d look good with my jeans, and high heels! Did you check out the link to dem dragon bones?

      Like

  5. Isn’t that something, your paternal grandmother doing woodcarving? Is that part of your artistic heritage, perhaps?
    C’mon, get a pair of sparkly stockings.

    Like

  6. My grandma on dad’s side loved woodcarving ~ not to this amazing level of craftsmanship, but your photo reminded me of her. As for the stockings, I’ll definitely leave those to bolder young ladies. 😉

    Like

  7. NO!!!! Oh, boy, something to add to the list. So, I had to check this out, and found an article, with photo of them bones, them bones, them dry bones! http://blogs.artinfo.com/secrethistoryofart/2011/04/20/the-dragon-bones-of-saint-donato/

    How many days now?

    Like

  8. Andrew

    Did you see the dragon bones behind the altar, Yvonne? Annie (Churches in Venice) blogged about them so we had to go and take a look.

    Like

  9. They were gorgeous! They were all sparkly on those legs under the wee mini-skirt!

    Like

  10. Darlene

    I love her stockings!!!!

    Like

  11. Michelle

    I did get to a glass factory on my first trip to Venice….walked by a lot of them and then took in the show at one a bit off the beaten path. And I managed to sneak out before the high pressure sales pitch came. Didn’t make it to the church though…next time.
    Love those stockings although not sure it would have been my choice to wear (even in the days when I often tottered around on high heels) for a tour of Venice….or anywhere else for that matter. Maybe she thought she was going to the Venetian in Las Vegas.

    Like

  12. 🙂 I like your clever comment! We need a “Like ” button on here.

    I still haven’t been to a glass factory, but have spent lots of time prowling around Murano. There’s another ancient church, under interminable restoration; I hope I live long enough to see it finished. Here is a link to Jeff’s information about it:
    http://www.churchesofvenice.co.uk/islands.htm#santamariadegang

    Like

  13. Wonderful! Two timeless treasures and a passing fancy!
    Santa Maria e Donato was one of the earliest churches in the Venice locality. Although the major restoration of the 18th Century (the Austrians) worked wonders, it left the marvelous brickwork of the apse exterior looking quite modern. The floor is incredible, and was misinterpreted by such luminaries as John Ruskin – perhaps a passing fancy distracted him?

    Like

Now it's your turn

